Got a DUI With a Child in the Car? Additional Penalties are Coming Your Way.
Every once in a while we hear a DUI story and think, "WOW! How did they get away with
that!?" We especially tend to think this when a crime involves a child. It looks like Washington State was thinking the same thing when it put into practice new laws involving DUI's that occur with children in the car.
If you are caught driving under the influence with a child in the car who is under the age of 16 years, the courts of Washington State are now required to tack on an additional fine of $1,000-$5,000 to your already-accumulating fees. Furthermore, (depending on your case), there may now be an additional year of jail time for every child present in the car at the time of the arrest, and the required time for an Ignition-Interlock Device (IID) has increased from 60 days to 6 months. Also, you should be forewarned; CPS will be notified.
We tend think that DUI's involving children don't occur too often. Why would they? It's not every day that someone leaves their favorite watering hole at 2am and goes to pick up their kid to take them out for a drive, right? That is a common misconception. With a stronger presence of DUI Patrols in Washington State, it is quite possible to be slammed with a charge after having a few mimosas at brunch or a little too much at the local wine-tasting. Yes, DUI's do occur in broad daylight…with children in the car.
So on those Sunday afternoons when you're having a few brews with friends, think twice before deciding to take your kid out to the park. If you absolutely have to drive, and decide to do so, have the business card of a great attorney in your wallet…just in case.
If you've been charged with a DUI or similarly serious criminal charge, call our office for a free consultation and find out how we can help.